Lisnaskea CCE

Lisnaskea CCE was formed on the 3rd of April 1965 with the committee consisting of President – John Carron, Vice-President – Fr. Brian McCluskey, Secretary – Tommy McDermott and Treasurer – Alflie McCaffrey.  Lisnaskea CCE has went from strength to strength over the years and has been home to a number of all Ireland Champions throughout its history, with the First being Tommy McDermott winning the Senior Singing Competition in at the All-Ireland Fleadh in Thurles.  There have since been a number of members that have represented Lisnaskea at All-Ireland level; Louise Gilroy (Drumming), Charlene Brady (Drumming), Darren Breslin (Button Accordian), John McCann (War Pipes/Button Accordian), Ryan Maguire (Drumming) as well St Cecilia’s Marching band, The Erne Islands Marching band and an Under 12 Ceili Band who came 2nd in Enniscorthy in 2000.


Dinny Leonard has been the main if not only teacher to most of the musicians coming up through Lisnaskea CCE, with his daughter Concepta taking over some of the classes in more recent years. Classes in Lisnaskea are very popular amoung young people looking to learn Irish music, as well as some older people looking to begin or advance their musical talents.


Irish traditional music is widely popular within the Lisnaskea community with a sessions being held every Thursday night in the Donn Carragh Hotel (Begin approx 9:30), The Corner House every Sunday night,  as well as many other more impromptu sessions being held in Franks Bar from time to time.